Nominate an individual or organization for IFIP IP3’s 2022 David O’Leary Award! Deadline is July 15th

The David O’Leary award includes a cash prize of USD1500, and travel to IFIPs General Assembly to receive the prize!

Nominations are due July 15th 2022 for the 2022 IFIP IP3 David O’Leary award, an award recognizing ICT professionalism.  The award was named in honour of David O’Leary and his commitment to ICT professionalism.

David, who passed away in 2018, was a native of British Columbia Canada whose made significant contributions to ICT in academic, scientific, government, and industry at the provincial, national and international level. CIPS members may know him best as a former CIPS BC President but he was also an academic Dean, a member of the government ICT Sector Council, and speaker at global conferences for the UN and IEEE.  He was also founding CEO of Igen Knowledge solutions, contributor to IDG-IT World, and founding general partner of REDDS Capital.

IFIP IP3’s David O’Leary award acknowledges an individual or organization that has promoted and demonstrated Professionalism (Professional Practice), has worked as an Ethics Evangelist, and/or has made strides in fostering diversity among ICT practitioners. An individual or organization can be nominated.

The criteria will include:

1) Professionalism – demonstrated commitment to all aspects of ICT professional practice:
a. Continuous Professional Development
b. Service to organisation and broader community
c. Trustworthiness
d. Accountability
e. Pride in the profession and setting a good example.

2) Ethics evangelism – in addition to ethical behaviour, takes every opportunity to spread the Ethics message.

3) Fosters diversity – works to promote gender, race, and digital equity.

The David O’Leary award includes a cash prize of USD1500, and travel to IFIPs General Assembly to receive the prize. The winner in 2019 was Mary Cleary. The award was not made in 2020 because the General Assembly took place as a virtual meeting due to COVID-19 travel restrictions. The award was made in 2021 despite their being no physical meeting for GA. The winner in 2021 was Don Gotterbarn. Don will travel to GA in 2022 to be acknowledged in person.

Use the form below to submit a nomination to the Award Committee. Anyone may submit a nomination for a person or an organization. Supporting documents may be emailed to award@ipthree.org. The closing date for the 2021 Award is 15 July 2022. All information is confidential and will only be shared with prior permission.

Click Here for the Nomination Form

Deadline: July 15th 2022

For more information, or to submit a nomination, email award@ipthree.org