Common Body of Knowledge Committee and Editorial Team


Dr. Tim Lethbridge, I.S.P., ITCP, P.Eng., is a Full Professor at School of Information Technology and Engineering at the University of Ottawa, where he teaches graduate and undergraduate courses and does consulting work in software requirements. Dr. Lethbridge is also the Chair of the CIPS Computer Science Accreditation Council (CSAC).

Vice Chair

Mary Lynn Manton, I.S.P., is Co-Chair, School of Information & Communications Technology (ICT) at Seneca College of Applied Arts and Technology in Toronto. She provides academic leadership and management for the School of ICT at the Seneca at York campus. She is responsible for the development and implementation of annual and longer-term academic operational plans that address both immediate and longer-term priorities of the School’s diploma, degree and graduate certificate programs, while ensuring that the current and future educational needs of students are met.


Dr. Peter King ,FCIPS, I.S.P., ITCP, is a Professor Emeritus at the Department of Computer Science at the University of Winnipeg. Dr. King is a Fellow of CIPS, which is awarded to professionals in the IT sector who have made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of the profession or industry in Canada. Dr. King is also the CIPS Director, Accreditation.

Rick Penton, I.S.P., ITCP, is currently a Co-Director Professional Standards for CIPS. He has been an active volunteer in CIPS having served in many capacities including CIPS National President and as Toronto Section President. In his professional life he founded a successful consulting company, Client Server Management Inc., to assist businesses with the acquisition of new technologies. He also has been instrumental in the start-up of a number of software product companies.

Jon Nightingale, I.S.P., ITCP is currently a Co-Director Professional Standards for CIPS. He has been involved in CIPS since the early 1980’s in a variety of roles including Co-Chair CIPS Certification Council and President CIPS British Columbia. Jon is the recipient of the CIPS Honourary Membership Award which is one of the highest award available to CIPS members.

Mukesh Kashyap, I.S.P., ITCP is Business Advisor – IM/IT at BC Ministry of Finance – Office of the Comptroller General, Internal Audit and Advisory Services. Mukesh serves as the CIPS British Columbia representative on the CBOK Committee.

Vincent Chiew, I.S.P., ITCP, P.Eng is Business Executive Advisor and Strategist: Project Management, Security, Engineering, and IT in Alberta. Vincent is an active volunteer in the Association of Professional Engineers, Geologists, and Geophysicists of Alberta (APEGGA) and CIPS Alberta where he currently serves as its Vice President. Vincent is the CIPS Alberta representative on the CBOK Committee.

Dr. Robert Fabian, I.S.P., ITCP, is the owner of Robert Fabian Associates and Information Technology and Services Consultant, based in Toronto, Ontario. Dr. Fabian has an established career in IT dating back to the 1970 when he became the first Chair of the York University Computer Science Department. Dr. Fabian is the CIPS Ontario representative to the CBOK Committee.

Kerry Augustine, I.S.P., ITCP is a Program Manager, Business Development at SAIC . He also is a sessional Instructor at the University of Winnipeg and currently serves as the Manitoba Regional Director on the CIPS CCITP. Kerry is the CIPS Manitoba representative to the CBOK Committee.

Dr. Danny Yakimchuk is an Information Technology Instructor in the Financial and Information Management Department at the University College Of Cape Breton, Sydney, Nova Scotia. He is the CIPS Nova Scotia representative to the CBOK Committee.

Dr. Wayne Cutcliffe is a professor at the University of PEI and the Director of Co-operative Education for Computer Science. The recent focus of his research is databases. Dr. Cutcliffe is the CIPS PEI representative to the CBOK Committee.

Dr. Ali Ghorbani, is the Dean and a Professor at the Department of Computer Science at the University of New Brunswick. He is also the Director of the Information Security Centre of Excellence in Fredericton. Dr. Ghorbani is the CIPS New Brunswick representative to the CBOK Committee.

Francois Duperron is Directeur principal, architecture et sécurité TI at Astral Media Inc. in Montreal, Quebec. He is a member of Reseau Action TI and serves at its representative to the CBOK Committee.

Anthony Upward, is a Sustainability Business Architect and Principal at Edward James Consulting Ltd. He is also an Industry Member of the Business Technology Management (BTM) Executive Steering Committee at the Canadian Coalition for Tomorrow’s ICT Skills (CCICT).

Copyright © 2012 by the Canadian Information Processing Society. All rights reserved. Copyright # 1095250