• CIPS Founder (1958)
  • CIPS President (1960-1961)
  • CIPS Honorary Member (1987)
  • Established first university credit course on computing in Canada (1950)
  • Part of the first team in Canada to design and construct digital computers and to provide computing services (1948)
  • Founded first graduate department of computer science in Canada (1964)
  • Recipient of the Isaac L. Auerbach Medal (1994)
  • Recipient of the Order of Canada (1996)
  • Professor Emeritus in Computer Science, Faculty of Information Studies, University of Toronto