Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)Certification Application Route Recommendation

In 2008 CIPS introduced the Information Technology Certified Professional (ITCP). The ITCP designation is directed specifically to senior IT practitioners and academics who want to demonstrate to their employer, their clients, their students and their partners that in addition to their IT knowledge they understand how to effectively utilize and apply their organizational experience to achieving organizational excellence

The ITCP Certification program was reviewed by the International Federation for Information Processing: International Professional Practice Partnership (IP3), and was accredited at meeting the required IP3P standard– Learn More

ITCP Designation Eligibility and Application Routes

The ITCP Designation includes a number of different routes to Certification, each representing a different background by which an IT professional may have reached ITCP level.

Click Here to view the Experience and Education requirements, and various application routes.

ITCP Requirements and Application:

  1. CIPS Membership and adherence to the CIPS Code of Ethics and Standards of Conduct

  2. Certification Application Review Fee Payment 

  3. Pass the CIPS Ethics Exam

  4. At least 1,000 hours of IT work experience in last 12 months

  5. References for last 2 years

  6. CIPS Certification Application 2022
    • This application is for all CIPS Designations (AITP, I.S.P., and ITCP), and applicants will be provided with the designation(s) that meet their education and experience

Experience Requirements:

An ITCP applicant will have spent at least the last 24 months in a role that demonstrates that they:

  • i) Possess a well developed broad technical understanding of IT;
  • ii) Understand how IT fits within the organization model;
  • iii) Have competence in one or more specialist areas of IT (technical or domain knowledge) at Skills Framework for the Information Age (SFIA) Level 5 or equivalent or above.
  • iv) Have the capability to operate at the SFIA Level 5 or equivalent or above.

Broad Technical Understanding of IT

Demonstrated mastery of the CIPS Body of Knowledge (BOK) is the benchmark that is used to assess the depth and breadth of an applicant’s IT knowledge.

Measuring Competence

An individual’s competence in an IT specialization is measured by means of the SFIA framework. The framework is divided into the following main six IT areas:

  • Strategy and Architecture
  • Business Change
  • Solutions Development and Implementation
  • Service Management
  • Procurement and Management Support
  • Client Interfaces

Each area is then sub-divided into specific categories (i.e. Business Change includes Business Change Implementation, Business Change Management and Relationships Management). Each category then provides a variety of competency levels. Applicants are assessed against the framework’s Level 4 and Level 5 competencies. General (non- specialized) IT work experience is assessed at SFIA Level 4 and specialized IT work experience is assessed at SFIA Level 5.

Measuring Autonomy and Responsibility

All applicants need to demonstrate they are working or are capable of working at SFIA Level 5. The application process will allow applicants to demonstrate their level of autonomy and influence within their work related activities. The complexity of work will become evident from the information provided via the description of work activities (in both general and specialized areas). Business skills are a key component of the ITCP standard and applicants, through a series of questions in the application, will be asked to demonstrate evidence of these skills.


Once approved for the ITCP Certification, Re-Certification is required every 3 years.

Click Here for the Decision Appeal Process

Don’t have the required IT Experience for the ITCP? Apply for the AITP or I.S.P. Designation!

If you have the required IT University or College education for the ITCP but have minimal or no IT professional work experience, you may qualify for “Candidate Membership” and the pre-professional AITP designation!

Alternatively, if you have IT experience, but not the organizational and business skills required for the ITCP, you may qualify for the Professional I.S.P. Designation!